Image

 

These were so fun and easy to make. I gave these away as gifts to some of my best girl friends for Christmas and they loved them. I followed an easy recipe found here and tweaked it a little bit ;). 

 

Image

 

I used the ingredients pictured above. Olive Oil, Sugar, Buttered Rum Edible Massage Oil 😉 (YUM) and Red food coloring for the Candy Cane effect. I named it “Buttered Rum Candy Cane”. 

Image

 

I changed up the label from EatDrinkChic and made it my own with Pixlr. 

Image

 

The problems I ran into:

-I used a Ball Mason Jar for my large sugar scrub and I decided to put the label over the “raised” ball wording and it made my label all lumpy…

-Also I used a glossy Mod Podge to apply the label and didn’t really like the effect?!? It made the ink smudge a bit and just didn’t look polished to me but maybe I did something wrong? I settled for using little mason jars and hot gluing the label instead which in my opinion came out much better. 

-With my little mason jars I had to figure out a way to scoop it out so I made some out of mini wooden candle cups and 1/2 of a flat wooden stick. For the large mason jar I made a scoop out of plastic scoop recycled from one of my baby formula scoops and painted it pink. Worked perfectly!!!

Image

Image

In all it was a very good sugar scrub. It wasn’t too oily for my personal taste and it is YUMMY too. I think it would make a good Valentine’s day gift also. 

 

